I promise not to stay away this long again….

So, it has been over a month since my last post, and since arriving home I have, on more than one occasion, thought about scrapping this blog, in its original incarnation, to start a new blog focused less on my travels to and fro and more on my life, just in general, eventually I have of course decided that this was a silly idea and have scrapped the idea of getting rid of this, my beloved blog.

Secondly, now that I am officially home in LA, more specifically the San Fernando Valley, I am free to see all my friends, lovers, homos, party people. etc. Yesterday I was on the freeway with Starr, headed towards Burbank to see Lizzo, when I look over and see Mahtab jamming out in her car next to me, so, I of course threw up some hand gestures and said hello, just goes to show you, you absolutely never know who you are going to see as you go about your day. I have been able to hang with a few close friends, however, there is a huge chunk of people I have yet to see, I know life has taken all of my friends in the most amazing directions and I am looking forward to hearing tails from their travels as well.

I know haven’t made any updates whatsoever about my Lewis & Clark style cross country road trip home, well, do pull up a chair, as you might be here for a moment.

I ended up packing my car at 5:00am the Friday morning I left, I had been super concerned about space, and while the packing job was a little slap-dash, all of my belongings, save my books(which are being shipped to me), fit snugly, in tetris style formation, in the back of my over priced mini sport utility vehicle. I added my overnight bag fatly zippered and protecting my clothes and essential beauty products for the trip, read: tooth brush and face wash, Manolo and his fluffy pillows and babies, threw on my shades and hit the road. Twenty minutes later I’m sitting across from my father at IHOP in College Park, noticing that the hair around his temples have finally turned shiny white as I cut my sloppy chocolate chip pancakes into tiny little squares to pair with mini portions or my scrambled eggs and extra crisp hasbrowns.

Over my IHOP coffee mug my Father is preparing me for what the journey home means, he’s trying to reassure me that life is going to be OK, even though its going to get harder over the next few months, I can tell he’s terrified, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified myself, but we ended the meal with hugs, a kiss to his forehead and I was on my journey, driving into the sun once again.

Driving is so ZEN.

Driving is so ZEN.

Somewhere between Georgia and Mississippi.....

Somewhere between Georgia and Mississippi.....

Three hours later, I’m on the 20 freeway, heading west, at speeds in excess off 90mph, I’m making such good time I fly through the rest of Georgia, Alabama and most of Mississippi. In Mississippi I stop at a filling station to top off my tank, walk Manolo, and empty my bladder, as I’m gliding down the freeway, I reach over to adjust my trip reader on the odometer and traffic starts to slow down abruptly. So, I end up sitting in traffic on the side of the freeway somewhere in the middle of Mississippi. Two hours later, I’m in the same spot, I’ve gotten out of the car, walked down the side of the freeway to see if I can figure out whats going on, a few moments after that a man walks by my car, I stop him to ask him dish what he saw, apparently, a mack truck transporting cattle, flipped over. So, I end up being in the car for 4 hours total, waiting for the state troopers to clear the highway of the truck debris, and cattle carcasses, I ended up making this video, and taking a mini nap that helped fuel me about 150 miles away from Amarillo, in Childress.

The enormous traffic jam, caused by cattle of course....

The enormous traffic jam, caused by cattle of course....

Manolo napping with his Babies.....

Manolo napping with his Babies.....

Napping on the side of the freeway, waiting for the accident to be cleared, pillow cases by Ann

Napping on the side of the freeway, waiting for the accident to be cleared, pillow cases by Ann

Traffic moving along once again....

Traffic moving along once again....

Manolo with his head out the window as we drive through Texas...
Inside a gast station, right outside of Texas, traverlers were able to write notes about their trip...

Inside a gast station, right outside of Texas, traverlers were able to write notes about their trip...

IMG_0825]IMG_0826

I was determined to make it through Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona early Sunday morning, so, I hopped back on the road, threw open the sunroof and sailed through the desert, again driving into the sun, feeling my cheeks become sensitive to the kiss of the sun through my sunroof, I pass through New Mexico without any problems. Night finally starts to descend upon my car as I hurry through Arizona, as I near Fagstaff I have refueled yet again, the night has become purple black, I have choked down a 5hour energy shot, I’m on this odd stretch of Route 66 trying to catch the 40 freeway back towards LA when out of nowhere a giant moose like creature jumps in front of my car! SHUT THE FUCK UP! This furry animal was retarded huge! I ended up swerving out of the way, thankfully there wasn’t any oncoming traffic, I was however a little shaky the rest of the evening, and along the freeway the rest of the way home I noticed every bunny, deer, and mountain lion I passed, and feared that they planned on jumping in front of my car to derail my trip home. Eventually I kept driving, and the sun had circled the earth once more, as I drove into the cool morning the sun welcomed me home to California.

Through the desert...

Through the desert...

Manolo and the hydrant at the rest stop....

Manolo and the hydrant at the rest stop....

Is my GPS inhabited by the price of darkness?

Is my GPS inhabited by the price of darkness?

Welcome home, Bianca.

Welcome home, Bianca.

Once safely in California, I pulled over at a rest stop, it was finally time to stop for a mini nap so I could power home, I pulled my hood up, put on my sunglasses, cracked the windows and slept lightly for nearly two hours before the road was nagging at me again, I knew home was close and being tired wasn’t going to keep me from seeing my Beloved Los Angeles again, as I was driving into the city I actually got a little teary eyed, a little lame, I know.

Glorious....

Glorious....

Driving the last leg of my trip, with the sun coming up, and home in the distance...

Driving the last leg of my trip, with the sun coming up, and home in the distance...

When I finally pulled into the driveway I had traveled 2,438 miles, I completed the journey in less than 72 hours, I have never felt so invincible, or so exhausted, I passed out and slept for most of the day and through to the next night, but now, when I sleep I’m not longer California fiending, I’m relaxed, and free to dream about my next whirlwind adventure.

2 responses to “I promise not to stay away this long again….

  1. well, u seem to have gone quiet here too since i’ve been away….just hope all is well in your world – maybe u could send me a wink just to let me know x

  2. metropolitantard

    Tales not tails 😉

Leave a Reply

