Hey there Blondie….

So, I recently did a little traveling and ended up in Texas visiting my mother. The trip was filled with all kinds of crazyness. I spent time with my old friend Honor, we talked about everything from the punk rock kids who lived down the street, to TexMex, we went to a crazy 80’s industrial night at night club Numbers, and ended the evening at Denny’s cracking wise about some of the interesting characters at the club.

Just call me Queen of the Road

Just call me Queen of the Road

I dont even consider 82 mph fast...

I dont even consider 82 mph fast...

My mom is radly unique, growing up I remember being totally embarrassed all the time, but at the end of the day my mom is loving and always made my life an adventure. This trip home really was a blessing and couldn’t have come at a more important time in my life. With all this change and growth happening in my life I sometimes forget about where I came from, and while I’d love to say I came from fancy influential stock my life is much simpler than that, my family has much more humble roots, and I’m finally able to be proud of  who I am and where my life began.

My mother and I took a day trip to San Antonio, we didn’t venture to Central Texas for The Alamo, as cliche as it sounds we went to bond, and have one of those simply amazing breath taking wonderful mini road-trips, just like those that shaped my childhood. We toured The Chinese Tea Garden, had fantastic Mexican, hit vintage shops and ended the day playing bingo in honor of my Grandmother. On the way out of SA we spent over half an hour in this huge mega mart gas station browsing armadillo fridge magnets and buying eight dollar bags of candied pecans. On the drive back to League City I rolled down my window, dangled my feet out of the car, gazed at the stars through the sunroof and talked to my mother about life. Not just life, but the journey my life has become, about the lessons my life has taught me, about the people who have come and gone in my life and about the huge level of absolute bless-ed-ness in my life.

Relxas Mom, its just bingo

Relxas Mom, its just bingo

Tea Garden.

Tea Garden.

Twas a beautiful day.

Twas a beautiful day.

In other news, I decided that with all the change in my life it was finally time to take the leap and try something I have always wanted to do, I finally decided to pick my balls off the ground, pull my skirt up and bleach my hair blonde. With the help of my fantastic Atlanta hair dresser, Brittney, my locks went from dark to a nice honey blonde. Eventually the plan is to go a little more platinum, but for now, this works and its amazing.

I dont care if blondes have more fun, I'm just fun in general.

I dont care if blondes have more fun, I'm just fun in general.

3 responses to “Hey there Blondie….

  1. I’m glad your visit went well! What happened about coming this way? Is that still gonna happen? OMG you won’t even recognize Bryan in his new glasses, he looks like the coolest little nerd EVER! And Ruth, she has a huge head! LOL We miss you so much! My mom does too! Man, where are you when we need to plan a rocking ass bachelorette for her? I hope you’re doing good… I miss you

  2. Hello, gorgeous! No ‘mokin’!

  3. WOW!! Debbie Harrie (Harry!?) eat your heart out….how GORGEOUS is that!? Way to go B – glad u had a fab trip – I’m sure it’s just the start of many positive things to come x

Leave a Reply

