They’ve given me Liquid Vicodin…

My father dropped me off at the hospital, sat with me while my blood was taken,  paid for the remainder of the surgery while getting into a political debate with the registrar of the hospital. Then he left for work while I dressed in my swanky blue and white utilitarian hospital gown, and cracked open a book while waiting to get wheeled into surgery. They hooked me up to the good stuff, and then I was out, woke up a few hours later, half lucid, and ready to go home.

Hospital blues...

Hospital blues...

So, the surgery went well, I was fairly surprised that I wasn’t in a huge amount of pain after the procedure, however, Wednesday morning the wonderful drugs from the anaesthesiologist began to wear off, I was in a retarded amount of pain. My tongue is so swollen it will not properly fit into my mouth, there is a huge burn mark on the back of my throat from the laser knife used to saw off my tonsils and adenoids and I can barely speak.

Swanky hospital jewelry....

Swanky hospital jewelry....

Yesterday the pharmacy was  finally able to fill my prescription for the pain medication needed to get me through the next 10 days, and let me tell you, I have never been so happy to be given prescription drugs in my life. I’m basically on liquid Vicodin as needed for pain, lydocaine for numbing my throat so I can get down a little soup from time to time, and an antibiotic to help me recovery a little quicker.

Waiting with my book...

Waiting with my book...

I already feel like I can breathe better and even though I’m a little congested I’m not wheezy, however, I am producing an abnormally large amounts of  saliva, which makes me feel like any time I open my mouth a large stream of viscose saliva is going to come pouring out of my mouth and down the front of my shirt. What a visual right? Ha ha

Now, I’m at home, cuddled up with pillows, trying to keep down liquids and hanging out with Manolo and Tivo. I’m getting tired of watching so much TV, and I’ve read every book in my house from cover to cover a million times, so, there isn’t a lot of variety in my day to day recovery procedures.

I just want to get back to being "normal" Bianca.....

I have been informed by my doctor that usually days 5 and 6 of post-op are the shittiest as the scabs on the back of my throat start to slough off, and that I will most likely have the most unpleasant ear ache of my life. If this is what I have to look forward to in terms of the healing process, I just wish it would come already so I can be done with it and get back to normal life.

2 responses to “They’ve given me Liquid Vicodin…

  1. feel better, my love! sending you warm thoughts. enjoy dem drugs…
    <33333

  2. At least you have the drugs to keep you warm, and dreams that are loopy fun 🙂 Feel better sweetie. Lotsa love

Leave a Reply

